All About Me

Leave a comment

May 3, 2010 by theresiugoes

I’ve always been big on me-time. Particularly after exhausting or busy weeks, or a full on weekend (like a camp or house party), I need a little me-time.

It was easy when I lived at home. I’d sit in my bedroom alone and read a book. Or I’d take a day off work (after a camp of some variety) and spend the day on my lonesome – sleeping, reading, walking around places where no one I know goes. Except now I’m married, so even though I took a day off work after camp this weekend, husbandsylv was around and even though I love him lots, he was still a person I had to talk to. And my sister was sick, so I went over and visited her for a few hours, and thus talking and thinking ensued. And then I came back home and cried, because even though I love my sister and husbandsylv, my brain just didn’t love people at that moment. It loved alone-ness and it wasn’t getting any.

I think this is probably going to be the hardest thing to get used to. Especially so long as I work with intense people and talk to volunteers all day at work… I’m probably going to have to slot my me-time in at some point or other a little more creatively.

Leave a Reply

