It’s all Greek to me

Leave a comment

February 2, 2012 by theresiugoes

Last Friday I found out that I will be studying Greek this semester. I had planned, in all my wisdom, to study Greek next year. Unfortunately, things don’t always go to plan, and I had to face my fear.

I’m realising now, though, that my fear is not really Greek. My fear is that I will realise that I’m not very smart. I’m not used to being a dumb student. A bad student, maybe, but always a student who is able to understand what’s going on in class. Greek, unlike other subjects I have studied, is not one I can fluke. It’s not one I can faff my way through. In Greek, I can’t rely on my ability to articulate or reason to get good marks. I need to be a good student. I need to apply myself. I need to work consistently, and revise, revise, revise.

That’s one of the things that Husbandsylv does so well. He works hard at his studies. He revises, revises, revises. He is consistent, and conscientious. He goes to class to learn, not to affirm how smart he is.

So I’m learning. Watching him study for the two years we’ve been married has not only encouraged me that my husband is responsible, conscientious and a hard worker. It has reminded me of an attitude I need to develop in my studies.

I’m there to learn. I don’t know everything, that’s what classes are for. I need a little more humility and a lot less ego. And maybe, instead of being crippled with fear that I won’t do great in my studies, I’ll be spurred on by the joy of learning.

Leave a Reply

