My Dear Child

Leave a comment

October 2, 2012 by theresiugoes

My dear child,
You move inside me, as I write these words. Every morning, I feel as though you are somersaulting inside me. I hope that’s indication you’ll be more athletic than me!
My dear child, I miss you before I’ve even seen you. I can’t wait to see your face, to study every bump and crease. To feel your skin, to smell you. I wonder if you’ll have my big forehead, or your Dad’s stick out ears.

I wonder so much about you. Your likes and dislikes; your idiosyncrasies and quirks, your voice, your hair, your tastes.
I wonder who you will grow into being. You’re just “the baby”, now. You’ll grow, one day, and be a toddler, a child, a teenager, a young adult… A grown up. I can’t wait. I hope I get to see it happen.

My dear child, you are so loved and cared for.  I pray for you every day. I pray that our Lord and God will grow you safely inside me. I pray that He’ll keep us from harm. I pray that we (your Dad and I) will love you well, that you will know you are loved. I pray that He will equip us with the skills to parent you and nurture for you and enjoy you. I pray that He will grow in you a love and understanding of who He is. I pray that you will know Him as Lord, and that He will guide your paths. I pray that we will make Him known to you, not just by what we say but also by how we live. I pray that you will grow in grace.

Our Lord is creating you. The Bible says that He created your inmost being, He knit you together while you were in my womb. Your life, my child, has already started. Your life is flourishing and developing inside me. I am privileged to carry you, privileged to be walking with you from this early in your journey.

In the throes of morning sickness and heartburn and sciatic pain and restless nights, I sometimes kid (I do that a lot, I’m sorry. Sometimes I’m funny, often I’m not) “this baby better love me!” But when I talk to my Dad about it (your Gedu, he’s awesome), he tells me that being pregnant is hard so I’ll cherish you more when I hold you in my arms.

My child, I do cherish you. I do love you. And I pray I’ll live a life, worthy of being your Mum. Worthy of the life God has entrusted me with. But if (when) I fail, there is grace (grace is wonderful! I’ll tell you about that another day!) – and  I pray that we will show grace to one another.

Leave a Reply

