Partying like it’s 1999

Leave a comment

November 25, 2012 by theresiugoes

My dear child,
I always used to look at pregnant women who would rub their tummies and wonder what the fascination was. Now I understand!
I love to feel you move inside me. Sometimes, when you kick me from both ends, I wonder if you’re dancing away inside me, partying like it’s 1999.
But you are probably doing what your daddy does: a full bodied stretch as you settle in for a nice nap.
The first time your daddy felt you kick, it was a tiny little flutter. “Was that the baby, or your tummy?” He asked me. He’s so silly sometimes.
The first time I felt you moving, we were in Bathurst. I couldn’t sleep – we were staying at a B&B – and just as I started to drift off, about 2 in the morning, you woke me up. It felt like you were somersaulting inside me.
I lay down, dead still, hoping for more. Sure enough, a few moments later, you moved again. I wanted to wake your daddy up, but he was too deep asleep.
I was so excited to feel you move, I didn’t even feel tired anymore. I stayed up a couple more hours, frozen stiff in bed, waiting to feel you again. You delighted me a few more times that night, and while I really needed to sleep, I wanted to enjoy every moment with you. Pretty sure that night, I fell asleep with a huge smile on my face.
I’ve been carrying you for over 6 months now, and you are so active. Your favourite times to move are early in the morning, while my stomach growls for breakfast; after lunch if I’m sitting down, and at about 6 every night. You are so incessant in the evening, it feels like you are just head butting me for attention. Sometimes I do that to your daddy, so I guess that’s where you get it from.
You always get excited when we’re at Church, too. Especially when we’re singing, you kick in time with the beat of the drums. Baby, you are some groover.
Your kicks and jabs are so special, more so because its only you and I sharing them. I can’t help but smile so big when I feel you move. I sometimes think how odd I must look, a pregnant lady on the train or in the office, sitting still with a huge smile on her face.
And while I love sharing these moments with just you, I can’t wait to see you make not only me smile, but your daddy, grandparents, aunties, uncles and cousins.
But until then, I will keep treasuring these moments with you, storing them in my heart, to give me great joy.

Leave a Reply

