Tomato

Leave a comment

December 19, 2012 by theresiugoes

We were counting down the weeks to our 19 week ultrasound. We were going to see our baby! And although just the size of a blueberry at the 6 weeks  ultrasound, according to my iPhone app the baby was now about 15cm and weighed about “240g, as a much as a large tomato”. This time we’d see features, organs and a body. If the blueberry floored us, the tomato was surely going to make us feel more awed and excited by the miracle of creation.

I only drank 1.25L for this ultrasound, which was considerably less than previously but still awfully uncomfortable. “I need to pee. My bladders going to burst.” I kept complaining. We were called in after a relatively short wait (time always seems slower in waiting rooms), but the moment the sonographer squirted that cold green gel on my belly, I forgot about the need to pee. By the time the screen turned on, I was bawling my eyes out.
“Am I hurting you?” She asked. I shook my head. “Just excited to see the baby”.
She had a pleasant bedside manner, although she was very direct. “Everyone always wants to see the fun bits first, but I want to make sure all the organs are where they need to be and working, ok?”
She started looking for the heart, then the liver and the kidneys. Everytime she’d find something (“there’s the liver/heartbeat/bladder”), I would think “yes! Baby’s got a liver/heartbeat/bladder!”
As she was counting 10 fingers and 10 toes, the two little hands were clasped together, fingers laced, and resting on their chest. It reminded me of how husbandsylv sleeps sometimes, and made me cry even more.

tomato
Finally, she asked us, “do you want to know the sex of the baby?” to which we answered a resounding “yes”. She started trying to turn baby over, and after a couple of minutes of silence said “I think you’re having a baby girl” which made me than ball my eyes out again. She then told us she wasn’t 100% sure, but we’ve decided to go with “girl” until we see otherwise.

We finished the ultrasound and she told me “the bathroom is next door if you need it”. Even though my bladder was full, and even though she was pressing on it with her ultrasound bobby, I had completely forgotten that I needed to pee. The joy of seeing our baby girl had literaly consumed my mind. We walked out with the biggest smiles on our faces. Husbandsylv said to me, “I’m so proud right now.”

It’s funny, our little girl was only the size of a tomato, and by God’s grace had managed to develop vital organs, and here were we, proud as punch, grinning at everyone around us as though she had achieved something sensational. Parenthood is funny, isn’t it?

 

Leave a Reply

