Five in Five

14

September 23, 2014 by theresiugoes

You know in Primary School, when the teacher picks two captains and they get to choose all the members of their team? I was always left ’til last. Except for one time, when I was picked second last (maybe the last girl had a fight with the cool kids). I felt so cool and sporty and validated as a human being.
Well, I kind of got that same feeling when EssentiallyJess tagged me in one of those internets blogs tag games. I tried not to look too eager and do it straight away, so I posted one blog before excitedly filling out the answers.

It’s called “Five in Five”, and was started by Ms Mystery Case.

How long have you been blogging and why did you start?
I started blogging when I was 15. It wasn’t a blog, it was an MSN Community, and mine was called Sylvie’s Smile. I stopped after a year though, because even though my community had about 30 people, only 2 were checking in, and that was lame.
And then I started blogging on MSN groups when I was 19/20 (I know. MSN makes me feel old). But I had a lot of people reading it, and 4-6 regular commenters. I even had guest blogs. That one was called “Mind Caves”, because I was deep and meaningful. I can’t find it anywhere on the internets anymore – MSN must have killed it and Google didn’t care to archive it. I stopped blogging because I got engaged and I joined a wedding forum and suddenly learning the difference between Thai silk and ordinary silk became very important.
Then I started blogging here. I tied to rope HusbandSylv into it – he wrote two posts and decided life was more fun than blogging.
I blog because I love to write. Writing helps me process, and sharing with others helps me process and think and grow. I couldn’t write for over a year when I had PND – it is so liberating to realise the fog has been lifted and I can write again.

If your wardrobe could talk, what would it say about you, and tell us about your favourite or most worn item?
My wardrobe would cry “neglect!” So many beautiful pieces that I used to wear when I was younger and slimmer and cooler, crying to be taken out and see the world, but instead imprisoned in a messy ‘robe. Also, I realised the other day I had four of essentially the same top. Black with lace shoulders. Four.
My most worn item (this month ) would be my Suzanne funky pyjama pants. I tell myself no one knows they’re pyjama pants, and wear them all day. I feel a little bit cool and a little bit rebellious when I don’t wear them to bed. And LittleGirl holds onto the back of them and runs behind me, and that gives us hours of fun.

IMG_0419.JPG

What’s your idea of the perfect date night?
I don’t like dates nights, because I prefer sleep. Once, when we first started dating, HusbandSylv took me to a nice Belgium Beer Cafe, and he insisted I drink wine. I didn’t even finish my glass, and I wanted to put my head back and close my eyes. But I was trying to be an adult and impress him, so I kept my eyes open with all my strength. But then I fell asleep in the car and proceeded to sleep talk about Kate Cebrano, Dawn Fraser and disabled Chinese.
So, lunch dates would be better. A walk through Darling Harbour, an awesome Sashimi boat, lots of sun and conversation. Home by 5, takeout dinner, and bed by 9. Perfect.

IMG_2440.PNG
sashimi boat

What’s on your worth casing list?
I have no idea what this means. I even googled it, and checked out the original website, and I’m still confused. Show casing? Locking in a case to keep forever?
Not sure. Either way, I’ll say:
1) my favourite smoothie. 1/2 an avocado, 1/2 a banana, 6 strawberries, 1 TBS honey, 2 TBS cacao and 1 cup coconut water. Blend and savour. It makes my heart sing.
2) Sashimi Boat
3) Paul’s letter to the Colossians. HusbandSylv is preaching from it at the moment, and I’ve been reading it a few verses at a time. It’s incredible. And it’s all about Jesus. I love Him more just reading it.

If you had a theme song, what would it be and why?
Ever since I was 14, I have sung this song in my head. It makes me feel like me. I don’t know who sings it, I don’t know what it means, and I’m not sure I want to google it, incase it turns out to be different to my recollection.
But it sings,

sometimes I feel, feel like I am drink behind the wheel,
the wheel of my serenity, however it may feel.
Give it a spin, see if it can somehow back to in;
You know there’s always more than one way to say exactly what you need to say.

Was I out of my head was I out of my mind?
How could I have ever been so blind
I was waiting for an indication it was hard to find
No matter what I say only what I do
I never mean to do bad things to you
So quiet but I finally woke up
Take your stand, and it’s time you spoke up too
.”

That actually makes no sense.

Ok! That was fun (for me)! I tag Michelle and Jess and Lisa.

14 thoughts on “Five in Five

  1. Wendy Parks says:

    What a cool idea! I love how the blogging community is so supportive and we can encourage each other and share our insights, hopes, thoughts and even “casings” (whatever they are! I’m with you on that one!)
    Was lovely to learn a bit more about you.
    xxx

  2. lovely to learn a little bit more about you.I love how you said you love Jesus more the more you read about him. I love the words to the song, it feels familiar but I can’t quite put my finger on it. I did a five in five post today as well, so much fun

  3. mummywifeme says:

    That was fun and great to learn more about you!! I can’t believe you’ve been blogging for so long. I need to do my five in five this week. Eek. Better get cracking.

    • wifesylv says:

      It’s so much fun to write! Looking forward to seeing yours 🙂
      Also, come next year, I’ll be blogging for half my life! I don’t know if that’s lame or cool 😦

  4. I might have actually LOL’d IRL at your falling asleep after half a glass of wine on your date. What a crack up! That is me these days too though I guess! I have 2 drinks and my head hits the pillow and I’m OUT! Thanks for sharing more about you, I think this is the first time I’ve read you! (Stopping by for #teamIBOT)

    • wifesylv says:

      Thanks for dropping by! I’ve always wished I could be a person who would sit around drinking wine and talking til the night, but alas – I can only do it with the one glass!

  5. I giggled when you said about being picked for sport, because I was always picked last too, and never got to do the picking, so it made me feel all kinds of special to be the picker. Which sounds kind of gross, but anyway…
    Also the worth casing thing tripped me up too. I love the idea of you putting avocado in a suit case though.
    Thanks for playing along. 🙂

    • wifesylv says:

      I have taken avocado in a suitcase overseas though (out of Australia). Made it through the 21 hour flight and customs!

  6. hugzillablog says:

    First time visitor here, courtesy of IBOT. I LOLd at your wine-induced sleep babble. That is so much what I am like these days. Thanks kiddos!

  7. Phillipa says:

    I enjoy reading your blogs, they are insightful, honest, interesting & funny but most of all they take me back to childhood memories of my own…I had always wished that I could out run a girl who came first by a long shot in every race on sports day….she was popular, had long legs, & did little athletics outside school hours. I knew my mother had too many mouths to feed so asking to join little athletics wasn’t an option. But still very determined I came home every afternoon & ran all the way down our steep, windy hill & back totalling about a kilometre. It was a route that I had seen our first grade local footballers run down & back up many times for training. It wasn’t a walk in the park kind of run & although I was in year six I made myself think I was one of these footballers in training. It was complete persistence that kept me going right up until sports carnival day; I could smell the blue ribbon dangling in front of me. Ill never forget how amateur I looked on sports day with my worn sneakers, knee length shorts & oversized shirt beside athletic legs in her running tights & matching sports bra. The sound of the start gun & my road runner competitor disappearing way out in front like she was propelled by an unnatural force left me trying to break every barrier to keep up. My chest hurt, legs ached, head thumped & I felt wobbly like jelly reaching the finish line. So although I went home with a red ribbon, to me it felt like a blue because I had achieved some kind of milestone of my own that day! And I still have that one ribbon rolled up in a keepsake box in the dark depths of some cupboard at Mums place to prove it!! xx

    • wifesylv says:

      Thanks Phillipa! What a great story 🙂 I love how who we are is always impacted by our past, even if our past just feels like a distant or vague memory. You should write down your memories to pass on to your children!

Leave a Reply

